CASI awarded two UTIAS Professors for outstanding achievements in their innovation and leadership

The Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute (CASI) Senior Awards recognizes Canadians for their outstanding achievement in aeronautics, space and related technologies. For the 2021 Senior Awards, CASI honoured two UTIAS Professors with the McCurdy Award and the C.D. Howe Award.

Professor Hugh H.T. Liu was awarded the CASI McCurdy Award, presented for his outstanding achievement in the science and creative aspects of engineering relating to aeronautics and space research.

As an internationally known researcher in flight systems and control, Liu has made seminal contributions in novel flight control solutions to innovative aerial systems and emerging aviation applications. His work in this area was an important influence on the latest large aspect‐ratio (leading to flexibility), high‐altitude and long endurance (HALE) aircraft design. For over the past 20 years, his research contributions in intelligent flight control systems makes him one of the world’s leading researchers in this field. His research on motion synchronization enabled multiple aircraft to fly in formation followed by precision control to engage close formation flight. He later received a U.S. patent (7,680,547) and a Canadian patent (2,549,817) to recognize his technical invention.

Professor David W. Zingg was awarded the C.D. Howe Award, presented for achievements in the fields of planning and policy making, and overall leadership in Canadian aeronautics and space activities.

Zingg has previously been awarded CASI’s McCurdy Award and Turnbull Lectureship. He has been an influential figure in Canadian aerospace for over two decades, representing academia in virtually all national initiatives related to research and development. His contributions have been particularly noteworthy in the area of environmentally sustainable aviation, where he has spearheaded several important initiatives. For example, Zingg played virtually every role possible in the successful Green Aviation Research and Development Network (GARDN), including as a member of Board of Directors, Chair of the Scientific Committee, and principal investigator on several research projects. He also served as Canada’s representative on the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Committee on Aviation Environmental Protection (CAEP) for the Integrated Independent Expert Technology Goals Assessment and Review for Engines and Aircraft in 2017-2018. The C.D. Howe Award was previously awarded to UTIAS founder Gordon Patterson in 1972.


Posted in Uncategorized

© 2022 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering