Professor Hugh T. Liu elected to the Canadian Academy of Engineering

Eight members of the U of T Engineering community have been elected as 2022 fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE). Professors Hugh Liu (UTIAS), Alison McGuigan (ChemE, BME) and Craig Simmons (MIE, BME), along with alumni Gregory Kopp (MechE PhD 9T5), Hanif Ladak (ElecE 9T1), Ted Mao (ChemE MASc. 9T3, PhD 9T7), Maria Anna Polak (Civil PhD 9T2) and Nathan Stubina (MMS PhD 8T8) are among the CAE’s 47 new fellows.

Professor Hugh Liu 

Liu is an internationally renowned researcher in aircraft systems and control. He leads the Flight Systems and Control Research Laboratory and is the director of the Centre for Aerial Robotics Research and Education (CARRE). Liu’s work has provided innovative solutions to guidance, navigation and control problems to enable intelligent aerial systems development and autonomous aviation applications. His research has been patented and applied by industry and has also led to a startup company. A leader in his professional community, Liu serves on editorial boards of leading journals and technical committees of international societies. He is a fellow of the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering and the Engineering Institute of Canada and is an associate fellow of the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.    

Full article: U of T Engineering professors and alumni elected to the Canadian Academy of Engineering