Experimental Fluid
Dynamics Laboratory


Professor Alis Ekmekci

Alis Ekmekci is the chair of the Aerospace major in the Department of Engineering Science at the University of Toronto and an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS). She leads the Experimental Fluid Dynamics Research ab at UTIAS. She was awarded the prestigious Research Excellence Award in 2024 and the Early Researcher Award in 2015 by the Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation.

Her research interests lie in the general area of experimental fluid dynamics, aerodynamics and aeroacoustics. Her research interests include (but are not limited to) landing gear and high-lift noise, cavity aerodynamics and acoustics, synthetic jet actuators, flow-induced vibration and noise, flow control, energy harvesting from fluids, vortex dynamics, cyclist aerodynamics, and automobile aerodynamics.

She received her BASc in Mechanical Engineering from Istanbul Technical University in 2000 and her MASc and PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Lehigh University in 2003 and 2007, respectively. She worked at Purdue University as a post-doctoral research associate in 2007 and then joined the engineering faculty at the University of Toronto starting in 2008.

Alis_Ekmekci_Photo_2018[647] (3)

Current Graduate Students


Zhe Lu

PhD Student

Noise generation in aircraft nose landing gear and development of noise mitigation techniques

MOHTAT, Pouya - AE

Pouya Mohtat

PhD Student

Control of vortex-induced vibrations via spanwise surface protrusions

Raymond 2

Raymond Alsaif

PhD Student

Noise generation by aircraft slat accessories and its mitigation in swept and unswept configurations


Abhijit Roy

MASc Student

Design of an unconventional model to study aircraft slat noise on a large-scale test model


Vinh Anh Hoang (David) Nguyen

MASc Student

Flow control using synthetic jet actuators and reduction of actuator noise


Solely Supervised

Solely Supervised Degree Year Current Position
Nadim Arafa Post-doc 2022 Prof., Mechanical Eng., Sheridan College
Ehsan Vaziri PhD 2020 Data Scientist, Loblaw Companies Limited
Philip McCarthy PhD 2020 Research Officer, National Research Council Canada
Ozan Coskun MASc 2019 Co-Founder, Aardvark Book Club
Lavanya Murali MASc 2017
Marc-Andre Theberge MASc 2016 R&D Manager, Geotech Ltd.
Antrix Joshi PhD 2016 Aerodynamicist, Aiolos Engineering Corporation
Besim Tayfun Aydin PhD 2014 Faculty, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Graham Feltham MASc 2013 Aerodynamics Engineer, Ford
Eric Khoury MASc 2012 Head Coach, Raptors 905
Adam Blackmore MASc 2011 Sr. Manager, Ontario Power Generation


Co-Supervised Co-supervision with Degree .Year Current Position
Matthew Buttler Prof. Sullivan, UofT MASc 2024 Aercoustics Engineering Ltd
Eric Yang Prof. Sullivan, UofT MASc 2023
Vahid Nasr Esfahani Prof. Hanson, York University MASc 2022 Aiolos Engineering Corporation